JSON editor for labels

Hi all,
I just landed on Contentful and I was wondering whether it was possible to generate a custom JSON response, without having to manually paste it.
In particular, I want to generate a JSON of this type (for Angular’s ngx-translate, labels to be used in an app):
{
“HI”:“Hi there”,
“BYE”:“Bye!”
}
which, in Italian translation. would become

{
“HI”:“Ciao!”,
“BYE”:“Ciao!”
}

I found Repeater app, which gives me a friendly UI (though not keeping the keys among the languages), but it returns a REDUNDANT

“label”: [
{
“id”: “12345”,
“key”: “HI”,
“value”: “Hi there”
},
{
“id”: “54321”,
“key”: “BYE”,
“value”: “Bye!”
}
]

I would like to get my desired format, not needing editors to paste an externally-generated one.
Is it feasible with Contentful (and any plugin)?
Thanks in advance!

Hi,

I am a fuctional analyst and have done some developing in the past.

What you aim to achieve, is to my knowledge, not possible without returning other redundant information.

In our Contentful projects at our company we always keep the translations in JSON files in the frontend code.

The alternative you found seems the closest you can get to the solution, to my knowledge.

Another possibility would be to create a content type with nothing but a single JSON field and request that. However, that is a worse solution than having a translation file imo.

In another project that we’re currently developing, we’re choosing to manage the translations again in a JSON file but manage the JSON file in Contentful itself.

Kind regards,
Ruben S.

1 Like

Hi @ruben.szeker , thanks for your answer.