Handling 301 redirects and vanity URL creation in Contentful

What is the best way to manage the creation of 301 redirects and the creation of vanity URLs in Contentful? I am new to the platform, but it feels like there should be a widget. How is everyone managing these without having dev. do them each time?

Thanks!
~Jessica

1 Like

Contentful isn’t directly involved in the routing of webpages so it really depends on the frontend you’ve built to work with Contentful to determine how to do routing and use vanity URLs. That being said, it is definitely possible to define navigation content types or redirect content types within Contentful so that those are controllable by editors using Contentful, but ultimately it would depend on a bit of frontend development to make it work.

I was hoping to find some useful tips here I could use myself to improve what I already have, but no such luck. Ah well.

I can however provide my own basic tips though on how I did something similar.

For the URL’s, I used a “Slug” text field in my content type (you’ll find that as a display option for the single line textbox field type). These are auto generated from the entry title, but can be overwritten too, and look something like “my-nice-url”. Then in your code you can query based on the slug value, grab the first entry in the array (unless you specifically need 2nd, 3rd, etc) then boom, you got it.