Help with Modular Content Modelling

I’m fairly new to using Contentful and the example projects aren’t really helping me here.

I’m using Gatsby.js with Contentful and it’s been great for a simple blog. Each content model contains the specific things you need and isn’t modular.

This is fine but if I want to make all pages on a site accessible to an editor (not just blog posts) I’m unsure what to do. A home page, for instance, will have a hero, paragraph, image, another paragraph etc. I want to know how I can create this kind of model in Contentful.

From an editors perspective, when creating a new page I would expect to click New > Page. The page would have a title, slug and then simply a button for adding a component or module - this would be a hero, paragraph, image or whatever. You can add as many as you want and reorder them as you like.

I get the feeling references are used in some way, but I’m not sure how. Any help would be appreciated.

You’re on the right track. Create a Page content type with a title, slug, and any other information every page should have. Also add multiple reference field called Components or Modules or whatever makes the most sense.

Next, create several other content types for each of the modules you want the editors to be able to choose from: hero image, paragraph, image like you mentioned and add the fields the editors should fill out for each one. E.g., the Hero Image content type might have a name short text field and an image media field.

Last, go back to the validation settings of the Page content type and set up the Accept only specified entry type validation and select each of the module content types you made above. That way the editor can only link or create entries of these content types.

Thanks a lot, I had pretty much the right idea. I’m gonna have lots of content entries now though because each component is an entry. When I make a page it could add 20 entries and the whole thing is gonna get messy quickly?